MM & Others -v- Home Office UPDATE

Going to keep it short and sweet here, people. If I am allowed to run on I am liable to get everyone more stirred up than necessary. It’s been awhile since we’ve talked about the #MMcase, but be assured that I haven’t forgotten about the many other divided families that are still waiting for news.

To cut to the chase: Last word was that one of the three groups that made up the MM-side has been granted financial aid. According to the rumour mill, of the other two groups, one likely will not qualify for financial aid and the other is iffy (see: 50/50 shot) at best.

What does all that mean? It’s hard to say, there are many ways that they (the MM-side) could take things. At the very least, the one that has been granted financial aid has gone on to lodge for permission to appeal to the Supreme Court.

This far, that is all the new information that I have regarding the case, though there is a reasonable expectation that we may hear more 2-4 months from now.

6 thoughts on “MM & Others -v- Home Office UPDATE

    1. To my knowledge, not really. At this juncture, word is that it will be appealed and go to the Supreme Court sometime later this year. If you haven’t been in touch with them already, my recommendation is to keep your eyes and ears peeled with Britcits, as that is where I am getting most of my info from as far as the MMcase is concerned these days.

      1. Yes, I like BritCits 🙂 Later this year would be lovely, as my wife and I would move back next year if we can by then. Praying so, for far more people with more difficult aspirations than ours. Thanks!

    1. One thing to bear in mind: it may have its day in court this year, but that does not mean that there will be a ruling any time soon after it. If we can look to the history of how long it’s taken for any of the courts to come to a verdict… yeah, I’m sorry to say, I would hedge my bets towards hearing something closer to 2016 than this year. 😦

      Best of luck to you both!

Leave a Reply

