When an Update isn’t an Update

Right, so I’m unimpressed, but I’m not surprised either. Turns out that number I was told to call is for CROYDON (Seriously? If Croydon has access to my information, why doesn’t Solihull where I applied? Why do I have to call long-distance to CROYDON… ‘hats), so if anyone who has an outstanding UKBA PEO Application that is over 14wks old from the date of the Biometrics, you can call: 0870 606 7766. Have your Case ID number ready – though with the fact that I waited 15 minutes, you could probably find it while you’re on hold, and make a cup of tea to chillax those nerves while you’re at it – as they will need it once they get to you (the number, not the tea, the tea is for you).

I spent more time on hold than I did once the call was finally answered. If all enquiries are going to Croydon, it wouldn’t surprise me if their phones were ringing off the hook. Once I did get through, a woman by the name of Harriet answered my call.

On a side note: they really need to make clearer what number they want when you call; originally, she asked for my “reference number,” but what she ultimately needed was the Case ID number. Once she had it, she verified my name, asked for my date of birth and then informed me that my application was “awaiting further consideration.”

You don't say?
You don’t say

Well, golly-gee, I never would have guessed that would be what was happening! -_-

When is an update not an update? When you are told information you already know and the supposed informant is not allowed to divulge anything else. But in such cases (caps for emphasis) WHY DO YOU EVEN HAVE IT AS A SERVICE?

For another thing: when your automated message is set to tell people that you are “experiencing extremely high demand” for your services, shouldn’t that be your first clue that you should, I donno, maybe hire more people to meet the added influx? Too easy? Must be too easy because if last year’s queue times are any indication (https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/average-processing-times-for-set-o-set-m-eea3-applications-spouse-visa-tier-1-and-tier-2-visa-extension-and-nationality-applications/average-processing-times-for-set-o-set-m-eea3-applications-spouse-visa-tier-1-and-tier-2-visa-extension-and-nationality-applications), where applications like ours by mail took an AVERAGE of EIGHT MONTHS for a decision to be made.

After coming to the conclusion that there was little point in trying to get more information out of the poor woman on the other end of the line, I thanked her and hung up. Turning to the news for a means of distraction, I was greeted by the Daily Mail’s article (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2438130/Theresa-May-Ill-kick-illegal-migrants-BEFORE-chance-appeal-says-Home-Secretary.html) where Theresa May, UK Home Secretary, is quoted, “I’ll kick out illegal migrants before they before they get a chance to appeal.”

Wait what? WHAT? So, she’s just admitted that she intends to violate human rights laws, did I read that correctly? Yes I did; she intends to deport people before they can submit an appeal.

But that’s not all, sport’s fans, because it gets better (worse?): http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/james-forsyth/2013/09/could-britain-quitting-the-echr-persuade-the-tories-to-stay-in-the-eu/

So what does it mean that the UK could end up quitting the ECHR (European Court of Human Rights)? Well, looking at what it does (http://www.nihrc.org/index.php/human-rights-law/human-rights-act-and-the-echr)…

Why do I feel uneasy at that thought? In a book, they call this foreshadowing (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foreshadowing).

Leave a Reply

