PEO Follow-up Time Limits and Car Follow-up

Yesterday I was speaking to a fellow transplant about Public Enquiry Office Applications. I explained my situation and showed him the last form of contact we had from the UKBA Home Office (see: the letter), he suggested that, given how much time has passed, that I should contact the PEO branch where I submitted my application and ask for the approximate queue times that they were experiencing at the moment.

Having very little to lose, I decided to do just that… only to be greeted by an answering machine message. But it wasn’t a complete waste of time, because the automated message did say that any PEO applications over 14wks old from the date of biometrics being taken could be followed-up on by dialling a different number.

Ordinarily, I would be putting the contact information here, but as I am pretty sure it isn’t the number for each branch, I am going to recommend instead that you contact your own PEO and get the information from them directly.

At this point we are sitting at 3 months – or more exactly 13 weeks – so we cannot contact them yet. If it comes to 15 weeks and we still haven’t gotten anything, then I’ll be trying that avenue and I’ll let you guys know how it turns out.

 

In the meantime, life still goes on and on Tuesday my Husband and I went back to the Volkswagen dealership to sign papers for the new car which we will be picking up tomorrow. It seems we were in a bit of luck for a change; my Husband was expecting to hear from them in about a month instead of in a couple of weeks. I suspect some of this might have been a combination of us not requesting special features and having a car of the right colour relatively close instead of all the way in Germany.

One thing of note that some might find interesting is the requirement that all vehicles be insured before they are driven off of the lot in the UK. Most dealerships will offer a basic 7-day insurance to simplify this process, however, so it isn’t such a hassle. I won’t argue that it’s probably the smarter method of doing things, as apposed to in Minnesota where you have 30 days to get insurance on your vehicle – and woe onto you if something happens in that time.

I’m reminded of one summer where there was an impressive slew of storms – straight-line winds that very literally took down trees – and one of my neighbours had a brand new sports car… He had parked it under the oldest, biggest, tree on the block and when the storm hit, that tree fell down right on top of the car’s roof. That poor man; his car was folded up like a hotdog bun and he was up a preverbal creek without a paddle because, guess what? He hadn’t gotten insurance on it yet.

Anyway, because of that memory, I’ll more than happily take the insurance requirements. If only because I don’t want to be in his shoes – only able to kick the tyre (yes, Americans, that is the British spelling of “tire”) with his boot as his car was very slowly crushed down the middle by a tree that was very likely over 150 years old.

 

Leave a Reply

