Arrogant Worms Birthday

So yesterday I turned 28 years. As part of the tradition I started, I am required to play this song and laugh at myself. That said, my birthday was quiet and, since my husband got me a Wacom Bamboo Tablet for my computer, I decided to put my new present through its paces to see what I could accomplish.

Original artwork.
Original Artwork coloured on Photoshop Elements with Wacom Bamboo tablet.

I am not an accomplished artist by any means, I just draw because I like it. One could argue, however that, when you enjoy something, you will do it more, and with practice there will always be improvement and increased skill. Keeping this in mind, I believe that I have improved over the years. It isn’t a Van Gogh, but it is far from being the stick-figure scribbles that I made when I was 6 years old on the bedroom wall (also known as my first mural).

This weekend, my husband and I are going to go out and watch a movie with my FIL (Father-in-law, for those of you who are just joining and might not have caught some of that lingo yet) and then have dinner somewhere undecided.

This, actually, isn’t my first birthday in the UK. I visited over my birthday once before. While some places have different traditions when it comes to birthdays, there isn’t a real contrast between the celebrations I grew up with versus that a typical celebration is like here.

Stripping it back and looking at my own sub-culture, I suppose one could argue that – given the size of my family – traditionally speaking, instead of having a party for every single birthday, we would have more-or-less monthly celebrations for all who were born in those months.

There was also something of a tradition between my father and I – since Father’s day (both in the US and UK, actually) fall so close to my birthday, we would try to do something together. We didn’t always succeed, mind, but we tried. Obviously, I couldn’t do that this year and, like the gift for Mother’s day, I have been late in sending it out to him. Oops.

 

A part of me, I think, has been trying to cope with the lack of information in regards to the FLR(M) VISA. We still haven’t heard anything, though we have confirmation that the package was received before the due date. I am hoping that we will know sooner rather than later, if only to settle my frayed nerves. If it is coping that I am doing, all things considered, I feel like I’m coping as well as I should – my emotions are valid, and I see no reason to deny them.

Still, it makes it challenging, partly because I’m one of those people who has to find distractions to keep myself from thinking about the things that are absolutely not in my control. I made microwave fudge one day, I made sugar cookies the next, yesterday was drawing on my computer, today I’m updating Transplant Monologues and likely going to a movie tonight or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

