Extra Points

I set out, as I said in my post yesterday, to ask unique and challenging questions with the goal to encourage thought and discussion. Today, with a couple of questions already in mind, I set out for the college. The number of people sitting in were few – five total – and while I was mistaken on the sitting-in part (in actuality, this was more of a promotional “open day” as there were no current students there with us) it worked in our favour as it made for a more open forum.

The College of Homeopathy is where I went, and, I wasn’t about to let my advantage of being married to a current student go to waste. My memory is crap, let me say this right now, it is utter crap – except when it comes to useless information. For some odd reason, I can recall tidbits of information that is completely useless to me and that’s what I did over the many conversations I’ve had with my husband in regards to the topic of his schoolwork. 

That in mind, my starting questions (and answers) were as follows:

Q. Are there occasions when treating “like with like” is not ideal? Can you give examples of situations where this may occur?

A. (speaker personally) I see Homeopathy as a complementary medicine, though it can stand alone. It is very common in my practice where a client will come in on steroids or antibiotics; my method of treatment is to not take people off of their medications right away – which would likely cause an extreme reaction – I work with them and, as symptoms subside they are then able to reduce their doses or even ween off of them completely over time.

Q. Are you seeing an increase in patients who routinely have the same profile/suffer from the same maladies? Can you give examples or offer any theories as to why this may be the case?

A. As a Homeopath, we tend to assess and categorise people by remedy classes (Plant, Animal or Mineral) through interactions with our patients. Some people are emotional people – they feel how they are – are plant-type people. Some are physical people – they experience how they are – are animal-types. Others are Mineral-type people – these are thinking types, they examine how they are. 

Additional questions that came to mind as we went through the powerpoint presentation were:

Q. When handling treatments/Homeopathy kits, what rules do you generally follow?

A. Because Homeopathy functions on the theory that everything is energy (whereas Western medicines tend to function on the theory that everything is matter) it is important to avoid handling – physically touching – treatments as much as possible. Think about what happens when your hair is very dry and full of static; what happens when you touch it? It produces a static discharge – a discharge of energy. The same reason why people use anti-static bands when working on complex computer electronics, a discharge could run the risk of destroying it’s functionality. It isn’t likely to cause damage, however, but it is about using care at the end of the day and exercising due caution. As I have traveled through airports, I have needed to put my Homeopathy kit through the scanner; in theory this likely has damaged the treatments contained inside it and I should now probably buy a new kit. Though I have used my kit anyway and have not noticed any situations where my remedies did not work as effectively – or failed to work at all – as a result.

Q. Some of the remedies list symptoms as being dominantly on one side of the body or another; since most of the population is dominant in their right-side – does the side become inverted when dealing with someone who is left-side dominant or ambidextrous?

A. Well that’s your Ph.D. and not mine (she laughed), actually, I don’t know; there have not been any studies on hand-dominance in relation to Homeopathy remedies and their affects. It’s a valid question, but unfortunately I do not know the answer.

Extra points for me; I achieved my goal of asking a challenging question. 

Leave a Reply

