Parting Thoughts

4th of February, 2013 – in the language of flowers, the pink rose signifies love; not the love of passionate lovers, mind, but the sweet and simple adoration of those we hold dear. I was reminded of this as I parted ways with my mother, father, grandmother and… well, not-quite my grandfather, but I daresay that, with how I’ve come to know my grandmother’s beau, he might as well be.

There was much crying and well wishes and it wasn’t easy going through security keeping what little composure I had left in tact. Leaving, I knew, was going to be hard, just as I know the challenges ahead are likely to be that much and probably a little bit more. I’m up for it, actually; living my 28 years as I have so far, I know I am as persistent and unyielding as a weed. By nature, I know I am indomitable; can be crushed, pulled, burned, yanked, plucked, ripped and still I will flourish. As any gardener knows: weeds are notoriously spirited things – they just never stop coming back for more no matter what you do to them.

But I am under no delusions, it isn’t going to be easy.

At the time that I am writing this, I am about eight-thousand feet up in the air and we have turbulence. It amuses me now how much I’ve gotten used to flying. The first time I flew (2009, I went to Seattle for PAX – Penny Arcade Expo – where I was joined by my closest and longest-time friend Ashley along with two others, Tanya and Jessie; Tanya and I immediately bonded and I am happy to say that we’re good friends even now, years later) I was so nervous then, both taking off and landing felt like I was leaving my stomach and kidneys somewhere behind (and don’t even get me started on my liver – please). Now, it doesn’t even phase me, I barely even noticed the takeoff from Minneapolis/St.Paul (the two cities share an airport, for those not-in-the-know) International, ditto for the landing in Chicago O’Here.

My flight out of Minnesota was delayed, thankfully, I had enough of a layover and a short trek (small miracle for O’Here, believe me) to my connecting flight. It was, shockingly, in the same terminal… granted it was at the far end, but hey, beggars can’t be choosers.

I read through part of the flight, slept through part of it as well, now I stand on the final leg of the journey – again I note the air turbulence; it’s not unusual, actually. I’ve noticed that it tends to happen when the planes change from flying over land to over the atlantic and back again that it tends to bounce a little – the sun is up already and I have the window seat so I’m using it to my full advantage.

Below there is a thick blanket of clouds – I want to pat it down like a cat kneading a duvet.

Leaving my home state, I was blessed with one last chance to admire the city sky-scrapers and the glowing lights below. I couldn’t think of a better way of putting it, but to me, it made me think of long stretches of neatly lined fields of corn and wheat; that was my impression of how the lamp-lit streets looked from above.

Chicago, while similar, gave me the impression of looking at an active computer board on the backside. I think this harkens a lot to my nerd-ness.

The trip has been basically painless aside from the initial departure as I mentioned before (see: crying), but the plane that I am on now is ungodly loud, even with earplugs in, I can still hear the roaring of the air circulation system. I can’t even begin to imagine how much I would have been up the walls if I didn’t have the forethought to get the earplugs months in advance (and, even better, remembered to pack them into the right bag). It was entertaining when I checked in my three large suitcases; I had the attendant dumb-struck when I didn’t even blink at the fees. I was honestly expecting to be charged more than $200USD. My father and I both got a laugh out of the man’s expression, and we couldn’t help but crank out the typical Schneider family humor. It was a pity the guy was so serious, or we would have had him roaring ourselves… oh well. Every comedic act could use a straight/serious type.

We’re getting closer to England now, I can tell from how the plane is changing it’s flight path and the clouds are starting to look less like a rumpled duvet and more like piles of whipped cream. They are thinning as well, I can see ocean below in patches now.

In-flight entertainment was somewhat lacking; this is the second time I’ve been on a Bowing 767 and I am still not impressed – it has TV over the isles instead of nested in the seat in front of you, so you’re at the mercy of whatever it is they decide to play. Lame-sauce, basically.

At least the food was… decent… for being served something that was supposed to be Cajun Chicken, it lacked all the spice that makes Cajun cooking… well, edible. Oops. Thankfully, there was salt and pepper, which helped a lot.

Back in the States, it’s 4:30AM and that would make in the UK 10:30AM – just a couple hours left to go and I’ll be there, at last. The wind was supposedly in our favor and the flight was to take 7 hours instead of the typical 8, though I’m still expecting to be stuck at customs and the boarder longer than I ever want to admit.

That’s going to take nerves of steel; I’ve been mentally bracing for that part the whole way, really. I’m confused by what I should put on the form that they make non-EU nationals fill out for a return date. My intention is to stay, but I can’t honestly say that with a Fiance VISA, which is only good for 6 months after the issue date. I’ll take it up with the people at the desk when I get that far.

Ooh, we’re flying through the clouds now – that’s always a good sign.

I’m feeling over the moon with excitement at the moment, you can tell because I’m acting like a magpie (topic-changing like it’s going out of style).

I’m wondering how well my parents slept last night, probably not so great, given how drastic the changes their lives are undergoing.

We’re getting really close now, the airline staff are bringing breakfast out. The shadows cast by the clouds are playing tricks on me – it almost looks like…

Oh nevermind, there’s that land I was hoping to see.

Everyone is going to LOL when they read this, for the simple fact that it’s just so typical of me.

And we’re transitioning from sea to land, I can feel the shaking. We’re flying over Ireland at the moment, I think. It’s hard to tell when they don’t have a map up.

This is going to take a lot of adjusting; I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous. Scared in some ways. But that’s perfectly okay; I’m more than certain that it’s normal.

Shutting this down for the moment, I’ll probably finish this when I get into Norwich and then I’ll be posting it to share. Lots of love!

Edit 4/2/13

I’ve arrived safely at my new domicile, despite the efforts of the would-be snow storm that struck when we were an hour away. I am now unpacked; which didn’t take long, in all honesty.

Now I just need to figure out where to put it all…. Eek.

Leave a Reply

